National Heritage and Indian Monument of National Importance

National Heritage and Indian Monument of National Importance - Background

National Heritage and Indian Monument of National Importance

Very recently the Archaeological Survey of India (ASI) released the news, that it has added 6 (six) structures to the list of Monuments of National Importance. Now the total number is gone to 3693 (three thousand, six hundred and ninety three) structures in total. The state monuments are maintained by the State Government and national monuments by the Central Government.

Currently Karnataka tops the list (only in South India) with most number of monuments (506 monuments) located in one state, followed by Tamil Nadu on second place with 413 monuments. Nationally Uttar Pradesh holds first (with 745 monuments) place followed by Karnataka.

Six monuments declared as Monuments of national importance in the year 2018 are as such …
  1. Old High Court Building in Nagpur, Maharashtra.
  2. Aga Khan Haveli in Agra.
  3. Hathi Khana Haveli in Agra.
  4. Neemrana Baori in Rajasthan’s Alwar district.
  5. Group of Temples located at Ranipur Jharial, Bolangir district, Odisha.
  6. Vishnu Temple in Kotali, Pithoragarh district, Uttarakhand.

The term “Ancient Monument” from the context of Act.
Ancient Monument and Archaeological Sites and Remains Act, 1958 specifies that any structure, sculpture, inscription (in any given language), etc. which is in existence for more than 100 years is denoted as “Ancient Monument”.

As specified by ASI, the Monument of National Importance Include
  • The ruins of an ancient monument
  • The site of an ancient monument (the location on which monument is located)
  • The land on which there there is provision for the preserving the ancient monument.
  • Monument’s surrounding area by means of which, it it easily and freely accessible to public.

Important Links (External)

Post a Comment

Should you need any further information, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Previous Post Next Post