Tropical Cyclone Pubak

Tropical Cyclone Pubak - Background Context

The India Meteorological Department (IMD) subsidiary of Ministry of Earth Science, Government of India; has informed a yellow alert for the cyclone Pabuk . The Cyclone Pabuk originated in South China Sea, moved towards the Gulf of Thailand and surrounding neighbourhood.

Tropical Cyclone Pubak

The Process of Four Stage Warning (Cyclone Warning)

  1. The weather department make warnings of cyclone to state government officials, a four stage process.
  2. The very First Stage Warning (PRE CYCLONE WATCH) is released, issued 72 hours (03 days) in advance. This has the information about the formation of cyclone over North Indian Ocean, likely to escalate into tropical cyclone and coastal region to witness and experience the experience unfavourable weather condition. This early information bulletin is issued or released by the DG of IMG with intention and addressed to senior officers of Govt. of India, Chief Secretaries of maritime states and Cabinet Secretary.
  3. The Second Stage Warning (CYCLONE ALERT). Issuance of this warning is 48 hours (02 days) in advance, before it advances to costal area. This warning comes with the informational data (location likely to get adversely affected, intensity of the cyclonic storm and direction of its advancement). At this stage the the fishermen, civilians, Indian media and disaster management agencies and authorities are enlightened. This warning is issued by the Area Cyclone Warning Centres (ACWCs), Cyclone Warning Centre (CWCs) and Cyclone Warning Division (CWD) at their respective Headquarters.
  4. The Third Stage (CYCLONIC WARNING), is sounded 24 hours (a day) in advance before cyclone hits the foretold coastal region or areas. These warnings are issued by the Area Cyclone Warning Centres (ACWCs), Cyclone Warning Centre (CWCs) and Cyclone Warning Division (CWD) at the interval of 3 hours, educating everyone about latest progress and current position of storm. At this stage fishermans, civilians, indian media and disaster management agencies and authorities are on complete alert.
  5. The Fourth Stage (POST LANDFALL OUTLOOK), this warning is sounded every 12 hours in advance of aniticipated or presumed time of landfall. It informs about the likely direction of the storm/cyclone after its likely landfall and unfavourable weather scenarios to be witness in the interior regions or areas.

Colour Codes - Used since Monsoon 2006 (National Disaster Management)

  • CYCLONE ALERT - Yellow.
  • CYCLONE WARNING - Orange/Saffron.

Important Links (External)

  1. Cyclone Warning Centre.
  2. Four Stage Warning - Indian Meteorological Department.

Post a Comment

Please do not enter any spam link in the comment box. Thank you.

Previous Post Next Post